Thursday, February 5, 2009

Mind Garage - An Electric Rock Mass (us 1969, Rare Psych)

The Mind Garage - The Mind Garage - An Electric Rock Mass (us 1969, Rare Psych)

Formed: 1969, WV, United States
Disbanded: 1970

Larry McClurg (vocals),
Jack Bonasso (keyboards),
John Vaughan (guitar),
Norris N. Lytton (bass, saxophone),
Ted Smith (drums)

01. - Ruby Rose
02. - Life
03. - Back Down Home
04. - Futher Back Down Home
05. - There Was A Time
06. - Sweet Potato
07. - Doctor John
08. - Never Leave Me
09. - Angel Asks
10. - What's Behind Those Eyes

From Morgantown, West Virginia. Although some of their material is psychy rock-pop, much is '69 class-of-brass too. The Electric Liturgy is reportedly along the same lines as the Electric Prunes' Mass In F Minor although Mind Garage were not aware of Mass In F Minor and had been performing their Electric Liturgy in churches for several years before they released the above album. Larry McClurg: "My own contributions were original, and I assumed the others were also. Mind Garage collaborated on the Electric Liturgy at the suggestion of Reverend Michael Paine and his wife Tori. The idea was to bring the contemporary music into the church while attracting the young people who might not otherwise ever visit a church. We started as "garage" musicians and were not into ministry. In fact we were very much a part of the 'street'. As I remember, Reverend Paine explained the church seemed too far away from real life... "you shouldn't leave your humanity at the door" when you enter church."

Download Link:

Filename: Mind Garage - An Electric Rock Mass (us 1969, Rare Ps...rar Size: 49.57 MB
You can buy the Mind Garage album and support the group at: